BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND ADVISERS

Dairy Crest is led by an experienced Board of Directors, which today comprises three Executive Directors, one Nonexecutive Chairman and four independent Non-executive **Directors. Together the Executive Directors have over 30** years experience of the business.

The Board sets strategy and monitors progress. Dayto-day matters are the responsibility of the Management Board, which today comprises the three Executive **Directors, the Company Secretary & General Counsel and** three other senior managers.



1. Mark Allen Chief Executive ◊ Δ

(4)

(8)

Appointed a Director in 2002 and became Chief Executive in January 2007. He joined Dairy Crest in August 1991. He was formally with Shell UK Ltd. He is Chairman of the BITC South West Regional Advisory Board and a Trustee for The Prince's Countryside Fund. He is Vice Chairman of Dairy UK and a Non-Executive Director of Howden Joinery Group Plc.



2. Tom Atherton Finance Director ◊ Δ

Appointed May 2013. A Chartered Accountant who has worked for Dairy Crest for over 8 years. Prior to his appointment to the Board he served as Director of Financial Control. He has previously held senior finance positions in Logica plc and Thorn plc.

3. Martyn Wilks Executive Managing Director ◊ Δ

Appointed in January 2008. He was President of the Snackfood Division of Mars USA, and has held other senior management positions within Mars Incorporated including Managing Director of Mars, France, and Global Vice President for Sales and Marketing. Martyn is also currently an Appointed Non-executive Director of England Netball, the governing body for the sport.

4. Anthony Fry Chairman ‡

Appointed as a Non-executive Director in July 2007, as Chairman on 1 January 2010 and as Chairman of the Nomination Committee in May 2011. Until March 2011 he was Senior Adviser of Evercore Partners in the firm's London office. He has previously held senior appointments at Lehman Brothers, Credit Suisse and the Rothschild Group in a career in merchant banking which has spanned more than 30 years. In November 2010 he was appointed Chairman of Cala Group Limited and in November 2012 he was appointed Senior Adviser to the Board of Espirito Santo Investment Bank. He became Chairman of the Premier League on 1 June 2013 and is a Non-executive Director of Control Risks and of Twig Europe. He is on a number of advisory boards and has served on the boards of Mowlem. The British Standards Institution and Southern Water as well as numerous not-for-profit

Anthony Fry was taken ill early in March 2014 and has been unable to work since then. At the time of writing this Annual Report he is on sick leave.



5. Richard Macdonald Acting Chairman * ◊ ‡

Richard Macdonald has assumed the role of Acting Chairman and acting member and Acting Chairman of the Nomination Committee since Anthony Fry was taken ill in March 2014.

Appointed as a Non-executive Director in November 2010, Chairman of the Corporate Responsibility Committee in May 2011 and Senior Independent Director in May 2012. He had a 30 year career with the National Farmers Union, serving as Director General for 13 years. He is a Non-executive Director of Moy Park Limited and until April 2014 was Chairman of DEFRA's Better Regulation Task Force. He is a Governor of The Royal Agricultural University Cirencester, Vice Chairman of the National Institute of Agricultural Botany and became Chairman of Farm Africa in 2013. He joined the board of the Environment Agency on 1 June 2013.

6. Stephen Alexander Non-Executive Director * † ‡

Appointed as a Non-executive Director in January 2011 and Chairman of the Remuneration Committee in May 2012. He is Chairman of Immediate Media Company Ltd, an Operating Partner at OpCapita LLP and Chairman of Look Ahead Care and Support. Previously Chairman of Maltby Capital Ltd (parent company of EMI Group), Chairman of Odeon Cinemas, Chief Executive of Hillsdown Holdings Ltd and held senior positions with Allied Domecq PLC and Imperial Foods. He was also Senior Independent Director at Devro plc.

7. Andrew Carr-Locke Non-Executive Director * † ‡

Appointed as a Non-executive Director and Chairman of the Audit Committee in August 2009. A Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants, he has previously held senior finance positions at Courtaulds Textiles, Diageo, Bowater Scott and Kodak and was Group Finance Director at George Wimpey plc until 2007. More recently he was Executive Chairman of Countryside Properties. He has previously held Non-executive directorships at Royal Mail Holdings, Venture Production and AWG.

8. Sue Farr Non-Executive Director † ◊

Appointed as a Non-executive Director in November 2011. She is a member of the Executive Management Team of Chime Communications PLC, a position she has held since 2003. She has extensive marketing communications experience, having served as Marketing Director of the BBC for 7 years, Director of Corporate Affairs, Thames Television for 3 years and Director of Corporate Communications, Vauxhall Motors. She was a Trustee of the Historic Royal Palaces until April 2013, is a Non-executive Director of Motivcom plc and was appointed a Non-executive Director and member of the remuneration committee of Millennium & Copthorne Hotels plc on 12 December 2013.

9. Robin Miller Company Secretary & General Counsel ◊ Δ

Appointed in April 2008. He is a solicitor having worked in private practice and in-house in both retail and international manufacturing, latterly with Gallaher Group Plc.

- * Audit Committee Member
- † Remuneration Committee Member
- **‡ Nomination Committee Member**
- ♦ Corporate Responsibility Committee Member
- Δ Management Board Member
- # Not a Board Member

Auditor
Ernst & Young LLP

Solicitors

Eversheds LLP

Principal Bankers
The Royal Bank of
Scotland plc

Rabobank International, London Branch

Lloyds TSB plc

Santander UK plc

Corporate Brokers
J. P. Morgan
Cazenove

Jefferies Hoare Govett

Registered Office Claygate House, Littleworth Road, Esher, Surrey KT10 9PN

Registered in England **No. 3162897**